A password will be e-mailed to you. Cancel

  • Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Veriko Tchumbuidze — Winner of 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition

Watch this prize winning performance of the Wieniawski Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22


Violinist Veriko Tchumburidze from Georgia/Turkey was the First Prize Winner at the 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition in 2016. In the video below, she plays on a 1756 violin by Giambattista Guadanini and performs with the T. Szeligowski Poznań Philharmonic Orchestra with conductors Łukasz Borowicz and Marek Pijarowski.



This year's Wieniawski International Violin Competition is currently taking place at the Adam Mickiewicz University Auditorium in Poznan and is streaming LIVE on The Violin Channel.

The 2022 finalists are, in alphabetical order:

Hana Chang (Japonia / Singapore / USA)

Jane Hyeonjin Cho (South Korea)

Meruert Karmenova (Kazakhstan)

Qingzhu Weng (China)

Dayoon You (South Korea)



Previous prize winners include David & Igor Oikstrahk, Ida Haendel, Julian Sitkovetsky, and  Alena Baeva — plus VC Artists Bomsori Kim, Seiji Okamoto, and Veriko Tchumburidze.

A student of ProfessorAna Chumachenkoat Munich Hochschule für Musik und Theater, VerikoTchumburidze is also a former 1st prize winner at the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians.

Her recent orchestral debuts include performances with the Borusan Philarmonic Orchestra, Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt, MusikkollegiumWinterthur, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony, Lahti Symphony, Sinfonia Varsovia, Munich Chamber Orchestra, and Zurich Chamber Orchestra.


january, 2023


the violin channel paint brush logo

Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!