• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever
(Photo credit: Chris Christodoulou)

Royal Philharmonic Society Announces The Gold Medal Recipient

Russian and British conductor Vladimir Jurowski was recently presented this accolade


This is the 150th anniversary of the Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) Gold Medal — as it was first awarded in 1871. It is presented for outstanding musicianship by musicians of any nationality. 

Jurowski was awarded this honor by RPS Chairman John Gilhooly onstage after a BBC Proms performance with the London Philharmonic Orchestra (LPO), broadcast live on BBC Radio 3. 

This award comes as he concludes a 15-year tenure as principal conductor of the LPO. Stepping down from the LPO, he will be taking up the role of general music director of the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich. 

Past recipients of the RPS Gold Medal include Brahms, Elgar, Stravinsky, Bernstein, John Barbirolli, Kathleen Ferrier, Jessye Norman, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Antonio Pappano, Sir Simon Rattle, Dame Janet Baker, Dame Mitsuko Uchida, and John Williams.

"You have brought revelatory energy to the UK stage through your acclaimed associations with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, with Glyndebourne, and of course with your sterling companions of the London Philharmonic Orchestra as Principal Conductor," said Gilhooly as he presented the award to Jurowski. 

"You have revolutionized what that term means, investing limitless invention in every step of the creative journey," Gilhooly continued. "As we are witnessing tonight, you are a world-class musical storyteller, conjuring drama and magic with your orchestral colleagues."

You can listen to the concert here. The presentation of the award begins at 2:24:43. 

upcoming events

july 2024

16julAll Day27Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello & Baroque Cello Competition(All Day) Thomaskirche Leipzig, Thomaskirchhof, Thomaskirchhof 18, 04109 Leipzig, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsBaroque Cello Competition,Cello Competition,Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello Competition

august 2024

19augAll Day24Tibor Varga International Junior Violin Competition(All Day) Ferme-Asile, Promenade des Pêcheurs 10 1950 Sion SuisseEvent Type :competitions Event Tagscompetition,Tibor Varga

22augAll Day01sepKloster Schöntal International Violin Competition(All Day) Schöntal Monastery, Klosterhof 6, 74214 Schöntal, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsKloster Schöntal International Violin Competition

26augAll Day30London Classic Violin Competition(All Day) Royal College of Music, Prince Consort Rd, South Kensington, London SW7 2BS, United KingdomEvent Type :competitions Event TagsClassic Violin Olympus International Competition,violin competition

30augAll Day01sepBanff International String Quartet Festival(All Day) The Banff Centre, 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive Box 1020 Banff T1L 1H5 Canada Event Type :Other Event TagsBanff International String Quartet Festival,string quartet


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right