A password will be e-mailed to you. Cancel




  • Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

BREAKING | Sergey Dogadin Awarded 1st Prize at Tchaikovsky International Violin Comp

Sergey Dogadin from Russia has been awarded 1st prize at the 2019 Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition

Candidates Announced for Hannover’s 2018 Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition - image attachment

30-year-old Sergey Dogadin from Russia has today been awarded 1st prize at the 2019 Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition – in Moscow, Russia.

A student of 2019 jury member Boris Kuschnir at the City of Vienna University of Music and Arts, Sergey is a former major prizewinner at the Shanghai, Joseph Joachim ARD, Paganini and Postacchini International Violin Competitions - and was awarded joint-top prize at the 2011 Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition.

2nd and 3rd prizes were awarded to VC Young Artist Marc Bouchkov from Belgium - and Donghyun Kim from South Korea.

Joint 4th was awarded to Aylen Pritchin from Russia and Mayumi Kanagawa from the United States

6th prize was awarded to Milan Al-Ashhab from the Czech Republic

This year’s Tchaikovsky Competition was held across 6 categories – Piano, Violin, Cello, Voice, Woodwinds and Brass Instruments.

1st Prize in this year's Cello Category was awarded to VC Young Artist Zlatomir Fung from the United States.

1st Prize in this year's Piano Category plus the $100,000 Grand Prize was awarded to Alexandre Kantorow from France.

The 1st Prize in this year's Woodwind Category was awarded to flutist Matvey Demin from Russia.

Joint 1st prize in this year's Brass Category was awarded to french hornist Yun Zeng from China and trombonist Aleksey Lobikov from Russia.

1st Prize in this year's Female Vocal Category was awarded to Maria Barakova from Russia.

1st prize in this year's Male Vocal Category was awarded to Alexandros Stavrakakis from Greece.

Each category winner will receive US $30,000.

The 2019 violin jury comprised: Martin Engstrom (Chair), Kristóf Baráti, Mikhail Kopelman, Boris Kuschnir, Alexei Shalashov, Akiko Suwanai, Salvatore Accardo, Michael Haefliger, Sergei Krylov, Elmar Oliveira, Dmitry Sitkovetsky and Viktor Tretiakov.

Previous 1st prize winners include: Viktor Tretiakov, Gidon Kremer, Elmar Oliveira, Viktoria Mullova, Ilya Kaler and Mayuko Kamio.


january, 2023


the violin channel paint brush logo

Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!