• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Indiana's Evansville Philharmonic Appoints New Concertmaster

After the resignation of Jia-Rong Gan May 2023, John Bogard will step into the role at the beginning of the 2023-24 season

The Evansville Philharmonic and its Music Director, Roger Kalia, announced John Bogard as its newest concertmaster and the first violin for the Eykamp String Quartet. The decision came after a collaborative decision between the orchestra and the University of Evansville and Bogard's stint playing Evansville Philharmonic as a section violinist during the 2022-23 season.

Bogard has previously served as the Principal 2nd Violin of the Richmond Symphony, a member of the Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra, and Concertmaster of the Indiana University New Music Ensemble. A former member of the Owensboro Symphony Orchestra, he has participated in the National Orchestral Institute and Festival, the Aspen Music Festival and School Orchestra Program, and the National Repertory Orchestra.

As a guest conductor, he has appeared with the Richmond Symphony Orchestra and Columbus Symphony Orchestra.

A graduate of Indiana University and the University of Cincinnati's College-Conservatory of Music, he has been a finalist at the International Irish Fiddle competition, the Midwest Youth Irish Fiddle Championship, and the Tony Cuffe Youth Scholarship at the Swannanoa Gathering.

"I am excited to welcome Jack Bogard to the Evansville Philharmonic as our new concertmaster," Roger Kalia said in a statement. "Jack stood out during the audition process for his exceptional musicality and beautiful sound. He is also a wonderful and kind person who will bring a great deal of energy and enthusiasm to his role as concertmaster and as a member of the Eykamp String Quartet.


upcoming events

No Events


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right