Finalists Announced at Switzerland's Tibor Varga Violin Competition

Held in Sion, Switzerland from August 28 - September 4, 2021, all rounds of the competition will be streamed LIVE on The Violin Channel and be available for playback


Held biannually, the competition is open to international violinists under 26 years of age. 28 candidates were selected from 124 young musicians to participate in the opening round.

The first prize winner will receive CHF 20,000 plus a number of important concert engagements.

The 3 finalists are:

  • Lorenz Karls (20, Sweden)

  • Tassilo Probst (19, Germany)

  • Maria Ioudenitch (25, United States)

In addition, three 4th prizes have been awarded to:

  • Ava Bahari (24, Sweden)

  • Seira Horiuchi (25, Japan)

  • Arthur Traelnes (18, Switzerland)


Jury members Konstantin Lifschitz and Marc Coppey will perform with the finalists in a trio during the Chamber Music Round of the Finals. This is preceded by Part 2 of the Finals, which consists of a concerto performed with orchestra.

This year's jury members include Salvatore Accardo (President), Kolja Blacher, Friedemann Eichhorn, Koichiro Harada, Yuzuko Horigome, Ida Kavafian, and Pavel Vernikov.